Friday, May 11, 2012

We are too International

Wednesday, May 9th

Today was Media Day, so it was another soft opening, but this time specifically for the press. It really wasn't that crowded. I also luckily wasn't interviewed because all the interviewees had to respond in English and then translate their response to Korean and I didn't really want to be under that type of pressure because I would probably mess up.

That evening my friends and I watched Spiderman 3, yet another American action movie playing on TV. There are seriously so many American shows on TV. You can watch all the latest shows from the US here. Anyway, on the elevator down when we were headed back to our apartment we ran into one of the guys on our program who told us that a group of us from the American Pavilion were getting together with people from the Thailand Pavilion and Kazakhstan Pavilion. There was still several hours until the get together though, so three of us went out to explore the neighborhood. This is quickly becoming a nightly occurrence for us since there's really nothing else to do and we're hoping if we walk around enough, something will come to light. Once again though, nothing really did. Although we keep walking down the same road pretty much, so we shouldn't ever really be surprised by that fact.

Anyway, later that night we met up with people from the Thailand Pavilion at the front of Expo Town. The people from Kazakhstan didn't show and ironically neither did the guy who told us about it (It turns out he walked right by us multiple times and just failed to notice we were there), although we were later joined by an Italian and 2 Korean guys for a bit. The group of us ended up all just chilling and it was so much fun. There was a group of Korean girls near us who were playing some game and whoever lost each round had to do some dare. So our group just started daring each other to do stuff at random. I hugged a tree and yelled that I loved Thailand (clearly the Americans were outnumbered by Thai. There was like anywhere from 4-6 of us at any given time and  maybe 10 of them?). At some point some Korean Canadian kid showed up and was probably drunk and we suspect he was from Quebec because his English was bad and his Korean was even worse. He shook all of our hands and then kissed the top of our heads as a form of greeting; it was bloody bizarre. He said something about it being the best cultural way (his English was hard to follow), but I have no idea what culture he thought he was respecting and needless to say the whole group of us was glad when he left.

 

No comments:

Post a Comment