My last free day. More laundry. I feel like I do laundry all the time. I definitely am doing it way more often than when I was at college because here I often go through two outfits a day (uniform + other clothes), occasionally even three when the weather changes too much. Anyway, I went and got lunch with my roommate. I ordered 야채김밥 (vegetable kimbap) at a restaurant I'd been to before, so the owners knew I was vegetarian. Plus I ordered a vegetarian dish, but the dish still came with 오뎅 (fish cakes). After I asked them about it though, the owner apologized and offered to make me new ones, but I just pulled the fish out. It was weird though because it also had like the Japanese salad dressing in it along with a leafy vegetable that had a very unsettling texture. Lesson learned. I'll still definitely go back to that place because the owners are so nice, but I won't get 김밥 (kimbap) again.
An hour or so later I met up with people just getting off work. After losing track of time for a couple hours, we headed over to the Big O for the Big 5 Concert or whatever it was called. We got to the concert at 5 pm and waited an hour and a half for it to start at 6:30 pm. Even coming that early though wasn't soon enough. The seats we got were okay, but too far away. Next time we're planning on camping there from 3 pm on. On the bright side, I got to see not only 2AM, but also SE7EN and MBLAQ, so it was great. After that I got some dinner and then went to the rave at the Big O. A middle-aged couple started dancing with me and my friends, so it was really funny. After that we went to the Argentina Pavilion for a party, where sadly everyone actually knew how to dance so I totally failed at that. But it's all good. Then everyone migrated to the cafeteria which turns into a "Vivid Beer Party" after 8 pm every day. It really just turns into the hangout for everyone since they serve food and you can be as loud as you want. They recently started cracking down on partying and loud noise at the apartments and so as a replacement, they've opened up the cafeteria as a new hangout joint since it's like 200 feet outside of Expo Town. That's totally going to do so much to reduce the noise level, but whatever. I randomly met a girl who was from Leawood and another girl currently living in Midtown, so that was weird. It's crazy how it can be such a small world, even if you're from Kansas. After I got back to my apartment, I immediately jumped in the shower and started yet another load of laundry because I reaked of smoke, one of the downsides to Korea. Not that Koreans or even Asians are the only smokers. Europeans are pretty bad offenders too. Luckily, the Expo when it's open is actually smoke-free, except for designated smoking rooms or my lungs would be dead. I thought KU had way too many smokers, but that's nothing like here.
No comments:
Post a Comment