So today was the first day of working at the Pavilion. Yes, that's right. Two days of training and then we start working... Anyway it was the "soft opening," so it meant that only 130k people were invited to come. No pressure.
We had training in the morning where we learned how to run things for the first time and then our pavilion opened that afternoon. A bunch of us walked around, exploring the neighborhood during our lunch break. We finally settled on going to a kimbap place and getting lunch there. I spent like 5 minutes explaining to our waiter that I couldn't eat meat. I should clarify it took so long because I could only use notes and hand signals since I can no longer talk at all. Anyway, everyone was terrified for their shifts because no one wanted to mess up. I didn't have to worry about messing up my Korean because I couldn't talk, but I also had no idea what I was going to do since I couldn't talk at all and all of our positions involved. I worked at the front of the waiting line the whole time because there were 2 other people, requiring me to speak very little. It was sooo much fun, I got to play with a baby who is now my best friend and teach little kids English. On the down side, I had to do a bit of talking and my voice feels even worse now. I've been consuming liquids like none other. I also went to the pharmacy Friday night and have been taking pills the pharmacist recommended, so hopefully those'll help too.
No comments:
Post a Comment