Tuesday, May 15th
One of my suitemates and I went to Emart to get groceries. We decided to be adventurous and take the bus, which took forever to come, but it didn't really matter. The route to the store was rather circuitous, but it was kind of like getting a free tour of the city. Fruit is so dang expensive at the store, so I'm hoping to hit up an outdoor market we saw during the ride soon. After getting groceries, we went to the Local Governments Pavilion. All the people there were so friendly. I think they were really bored and wanted to practice English. Anyway, we got several gifts just for being white I'm pretty sure. After that I headed to work for the afternoon shift.
Wednesday, May 16th
I had my first morning shift. I showed up there at 8 only to find out I was a half hour early, which meant I could have slept more. After my shift was over I hung out with my Thai friend and we went on a very serious hunt for pins (the underground currency of the Expo, remember?). Pretty much he did all the talking since he had these VIP tickets to his pavilion he would give in exchange for pins. Granted anyone with an Expo work pass can get in VIP in pretty much all pavilions, including both the Thailand and USA Pavilion, but hey it worked as a bargaining chip. I now have a bunch of pins, only one of which I bought (from the UN simply because it was the UN). After that we headed back to Expo Town then I rushed off to buy both him and my roommate birthday cakes since today was both of their birthdays. Then I hung around the apartment until my rommate returned home, upon which I surprised her with the cake and a bad rendition of the happy birthday song. I tried to get my Thai friend to come without letting him know it was his birthday, so that failed. But a group of us just chilled at our apartment talking and eating cake.
Thursday, May 17th
I had the morning shift again and this time I actually showed up at 8:30, which is when we were supposed to show up, meaning I got an extra wonderful hour of sleep. My shift went fine and I got off at 3 pm. After that we walked around to see some other pavilions. My friend from the Thailand Pavilion started his shift at 4:30 so we had him paged right before that and gave him his cake and sang happy birthday to him even though his birthday was yesterday. Oh well. After that we headed back to Expo Town and I chilled for a bit and then grabbed dinner with a friend. I ordered 된장찌개 (soy bean paste stew) and they told me there was no meat, but there was oysters. I just took them out, so it wasn't that big of a deal. As far as meat goes, oysters are some of the easiest things to pull out. After that I went back to my friend's apartment and chilled. Other people came back and I got to meet Koreans who spoke like fluent Spanish so that was really cool. Then we headed over to meet up with a lot of the people working at both the American and Norwegian pavilions. After that we went back to an American's apartment to hang out. A bunch of people showed up from several different pavilions so it was really cool to get to talk with everyone.
No comments:
Post a Comment